-All About Chess-

the goal of chess is to checkmate the opponent's king; which means the opponent's king can't move in any direction

Click to see how the king and other chess pieces move

There are three "phases" in a game of chess: early-game, mid-game, and end-game.

Early Game
Early game is all the moves in the beginning of the game usually before the first few pieces are captured. this phase can last anywhere from 5 to 30 moves, but is usually very short
Mid-game is the phase after early game where most captures are made and one player usually takes the lead. This is mostly the longest of the three phases, but end-game could be longer
End-game is by far the most important of the three phases; players who have a strong end game, are usually better than those with strong early or mid games. End-game is defined by the last moves of a game where few pieces are being captured.
Click to see the 10 most powerful chess openings! Note:These openings can be VERY hard to understand


Click to see 10 basic checkmates

Aspire to be the best at chess?

See the top 10 Chess Players of All Time!

contact us for more information


Background by:Matt Tanguay-Carel