Cricket Tournaments

Home Statistics Cricket Leagues

Name of Tournament # of Countries that Play # of Teams that Play Location of Tournament Run By
ICC Cricket World Cup 14 14 Locations vary International Cricket Council
ICC T20 World Cup 18 18 Locations vary International Cricket Council
ICC Champions Trophy 8 8 Locations vary International Cricket Council
Indian Premier League 8 8 India Board of Control for Cricket in India
Big Bash League 8 8 Australia Cricket Australia

Few More Facts about These Tournaments

ICC Cricket World Cup
-The ICC Cricket World Cup started on June 7, 1975.
-England was the team that hosted the first World Cup due to their ability to provide the resources necessary for such a large tournament.

ICC T20 World Cup
-The twenty-twenty format of the game was adopted to make the game of cricket more exciting and fast-paced.

ICC Champions Trophy
-This tournament started in 1998.
-Only 8 teams from around the world get a chance to participate in this tournament.

Indian Premier League
-This tournament, better known as the IPL takes place in India every year.
-Players from all around the world have a chance to come together and compete against each other in this action packed tournament in which anything can happen.

Big Bash League
-This tournament is very much like the IPL.
-It takes place in Australia and is full of young players who are given a chance to show their talent in this suspenseful format of the game.